WATCH MATT'S GP3 DEBUT


Months of negotiation and deliberation, three multi-day test sessions in southern Europe and it's finally time for Matt Parry to make his GP3 Series race debut alongside F1's Spanish Grand Prix.

The Koiranen GP driver will get one practice session late on Friday before qualifying and the newly-extended race one book-end the F1 programme on Saturday. The weekend then finishes with race two to open the grand prix raceday schedule on Sunday morning. For those lucky enough to have Sky television in the UK (and other options around the world), there will be plenty of time to follow Parry's progress, with qualifying and both races shown live on the dedicated Sky Sports F1 channel at the following times, with repeats yet to be scheduled:

Qualifying: 08.45 UK (09.45 CET)
Race One: 16.20 UK (17.20 CET)
Race Two: 08.25 UK (09.25 CET)

The GP3 Series heads into its sixth season of racing in 2015 and, following six pre-season test days that saw six different drivers - both experienced and new to the championship - topping the times, it could be anybody’s guess who will emerge as top dog this season.

The season-opening Circuit de Catalunya, where the teams ran theior last pre-season test, is renowned as being very challenging in terms of tyre degradation due to its long high-speed corners and fast changes of direction. As a result, the drivers will be using the medium-compound Pirelli tyre at the opening round, with the weather forecast remaining dry with warm temperatures.

 

Article created by Craig Llewellyn.