Matt Parry added to his post-season accolades by picking up the prestigious Carwyn James Junior Sportsman of the Year title at the inaugural Wales Sport Awards in Cardiff.

The honour recognises Parry’s progress from kart champion to king of the Formula Renault Northern European Championship in just three years, and comes just a week after the 19-year old was named as the 25th winner of the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award in a star-studded ceremony in London.

Parry’s domination of the pan-European Formula Renault NEC competition prompted the judging panel to pick him ahead of a number of other equally-successful young candidates as BBC Cymru Wales and Sport Wales came together to celebrate the best in Welsh sport for the first time,

“To be recognised by both Sport Wales and BBC Cymru Wales in this way is an amazing honour,” the Caterham Racing Academy member admitted, having been named as the successor to the likes of Gareth Bale, “Motor racing is not exactly a mainstream sport, especially at the lower levels, so to have been selected as the winner of this award is particularly gratifying.

“I am proud to carry the Welsh flag on my car and overalls, and my crash helmet design leaves no-one in any doubt of my heritage, so gaining the respect of two of the country’s most influential organisations is a humbling achievement. I already have reasons to thank both Sport Wales and BBC Cymru Wales for their support this season, and I hope to do them proud by heading into 2014 as the winner of the Carwyn James Award.”

Parry expects to graduate to the Formula Renault Eurocup next season, but the highlight of the year ahead will undoubtedly be the opportunity to test a McLaren F1 car, part of his prize for winning the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award. The Welshman, who joins the likes of David Coulthard and Jenson Button amongst Award alumni, beat five other hopefuls after a series of driving assessments and panel interviews before being unveiled as the 25th winner of the title last weekend.

The full story of Matt's McLaren Autosport BRDC Award success can be found HERE


Article created by Craig Llewellyn.